‘Nothing would be more tiresome than eating and drinking if God had not made them a pleasure as well as a necessity’ Voltaire

As the new year knocks our legs from underneath us at warp speed, I can’t help but think of the Roman god Janus; the god associated with new beginnings and transitions. He is always depicted with two heads, one facing back to the past and the other to the future. As I contemplate December and all its festivities, my mind turns to the new year and what I want to achieve in the days, weeks and months to come. Instead of making numerous new year’s resolutions of giving up chocolate and eating less crisps, I have made a conscious effort to instead give myself a few goals that I would like to achieve. One of which is to create, write and keep writing a food and home blog. 

I love being at home, I am what people call a ‘nester’ through and through. I can’t help but nest. Part of this is my love of the kitchen. Ask anyone that knows me, I love food. It is of great amusement to my family that the majority of my memories as a child revolved around food. One particular shopping centre that my family used to talk about, was to me, where the candy floss and popcorn stand was situated. Another shopping centre nearby, was the shopping centre that sold the most unbelievably delicious cheese and almond crossiants. It was always so hard to choose between them. 

Food has always been a big part of my life. I think being half Lebanese definitely had a part of this. Whenever we went to visit Teta (my grandmother), there was always an abundance of food and my mother always fed us all well too. For me, cooking food for people is such a source of love. In the most basic explanation – food = love. Like Teta and my own mother, I have become what is referred to as a ‘feeder’. I can’t help it, I just love food. 

So, my new years resolution is to blog at least twice a week about food. Hopefully, once about a savoury meal I have cooked and once about something I have baked. Moreover, I will be throwing in a post or too about home crafts I may have done, because this blog is not only about food, but about the home – it is after all, bakerhomemaker! 

Thanks for reading and enjoy : ) 

Leave a Reply

