Gooey brownie dessert heaven

photo-20

I decided a few weeks ago that I was craving brownies. I love brownies. Done right they can be a moment of true heaven as you take your first bite, the gooey chocolate that just melts as it touches your tongue. Divine.

I wanted to do a brownie that was a little bit different than the bog standard brownie, though they have their place. I had previously made banana brownies, but I wasn’t convinced with them. I thought about it a while and decided peaches would be a good fruit to couple it with. The result was marvellous! It turned the brownie into more of a dessert than something cheeky you have for a mid afternoon snack.

For the brownie mix, I used one that has white chocolate in it as well, for extra gluttony!

Ingredients

200g dark chocolate

150g unsalted butter

100g milk/white chocolate

125g golden caster sugar

4 eggs

85g plain flour

2 tbsp cocoa powder

1/4 tsp fine salt

tin of peaches with syrup

Method

Preheat the oven to 160 degrees (fan oven)

Place a saucepan with boiling water on the hob and pop a glass bowl on top. In this throw your butter and chopped dark chocolate in it so it can all melt into each other.

In the meanwhile  butter your baking tin. Now chop the white/milk chocolate into small chunks and set aside. If you have bought a big tin of peaches then lay them all on the bottom of your tin. If you have bought a small tin of peaches, like I did then chop them into big chunks and spread evenly across the bottom of your tin. Pour a quarter-half of the tins juices into the bottom of the tin too.

photo-19

Once the chocolate and butter have melted whisk the sugar into the melted chocolate, then add the eggs and whisk together well until the mixture is slightly bubbling.

photo-21

Sift the flour, salt and cocoa powder into  separate bowl and slowly spoon in the flour one spoonful at a time into the chocolate mixture, like shown above. Make sure you take bits from the side of the bowl as you go along. I actually used a third bowl which was bigger than the glass melting bowl and flour bowl. I poured the chocolate mixture in first and then the flour into that.

Gently pour the batter into the prepared tin and scatter the remaining pieces of white/milk chocolate on top.

photo-22

Bake for 40 minutes. It is essential that you keep checking on it as ovens do vary enormously. The brownie recipe I used only needed 20-25 minutes, but with the addition of the peaches and syrup I found that they needed a good 20 minutes more. Don’t worry, they will still be gloriously gooey. When I took them out of the oven I wasn’t sure whether they were cooked enough, but I left them out for a bit and then stuck them in the fridge of a bit and they were perfect. Leave them in the tin until they are completely cooled.

Because of the gooey rich cakey texture and soft contrast of the peaches and syrup it made the most delicious dessert. They are rich so you really only need a small slice.

I was so pleased with this recipe and it got rave reviews from the eaters!

Bake away and let me know how yours turn out!

One thought on “Gooey brownie dessert heaven

  1. What a marvellous dessert.,and equally marvellous “Chorizo and thyme fougasse” both well worth the try……when can I come and visit…?????????

Leave a Reply

