Oreo Brownie Cheese-Cupcake

Died and went to chocolate Oreo heaven. If you are an Oreo fan, a brownie fan and a cheesecake fan, then these will quite literally send you to tastebud heaven. Each of those foods are ridiculously good individually, and together? Divine.

photo-87

I came up with these cupcakes after browsing the library for baking books. I came across a fantastic Martha Steward book solely on Cupcakes. Awesome book, brimming to the edges of each page with inspiration for the novice or expert baker. Myself being the former! So there I sat scribbling manically the recipes I wanted to try and then I turned the page to see a Cookies and Cream Cheesecakes. It looks easily done and included Oreos, one of my many guilty pleasures. What could I possibly want more then that. Well, when it comes to food I am greedy by nature and have eyes much bigger than my stomach. My brother no doubt would argue that my appetite is just as big as my eyes… Anyway, though I like cheesecake, it isn’t one of my preferred desserts, whereas brownies on the other hand… Martha Stewards recipe was literally an Oreo for the biscuit base and then the cheesecake poured on top with crushed Oreo’s in it. I wanted something more and so I decided to layer the bottom of the cupcake with a brownie recipe by Jamie Oliver, then pop an Oreo on top and on top of that pour on the cheesecake. The result was, quite frankly, epic. I don’t normally blow my own trumpet (metaphorically, I don’t own or know how to play a trumpet), but I feel like in this case I will break the habit.

I apologise for the America measurements for the cheesecake- you can convert them on google

Obviously you will need Oreos, I used two packs.

Ingredients for brownies:

250g unsalted butter

200g dark chocolate (70% solids)

80g cocoa powder, sifted

65g plain flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

360g caster sugar

4 large free range eggs

(I omitted the sour cherries and nuts from the brownie recipe)

 Ingredients for cheesecake:

2 pounds cream cheese (I just used one pot)

1 cup of sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup sour cream

4 large eggs

Brownie’s come first. So oven on at 180degrees/160 fan. Melt your butter and chocolate in a glass bowl over a boiling pan of water and let it all melt. Meanwhile, mix the cocoa powder, flour, baking powder and sugar in another bowl. Once the chocolate and butter are melted and combined, pour this into the flour mixture and stir well until it has a silky consistency and all the flour is gone.

Line your cupcake tray with cupcake liners and pour in brownie mixture into each liner. You don’t want it to be any higher then quarter of the height of the liner as it will rise in the oven.

                                                     photo-90 photo-89

Now pop an Oreo cookie in each cupcake, pushing down slightly.

Moving on to the cheesecake bit. With an electric mixer on a medium speed beat the cream cheese until smooth. Gradually add the sugar in and combine well. Throw in your vanilla extract and then bit by bit add your eggs. You will lastly now pour in the sour cream. Though I did put in some crush Oreo biscuits at the end, the next time I do the recipe I won’t be doing it. It doesn’t need it and once cooked is not aesthetically pleasing to the eye. I actually ended up putting half an Oreo biscuit on top of each cupcake to cover the top of the cheesecake because of it. Anyway, it is all mixed now so you can carefully pour the cheesecake mixture on top. You can put it almost all the way to the top of the paper case as it only rises marginally.

photo-88

You will need to watch them in the oven. I think I put them in for about 20 minutes, but forgot about them and the back ones burnt a little on the top. I would suggest turning the tray around half way through cooking so this doesn’t happen.

photo-85

A deliriously gluttonous treat. Get on it!

Leave a Reply

