Coconut cloud mouthfuls

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Birthday Coconut cupcakes with Martha Stewarts Seven Minute icing.

photo-79

So it was the week of Valentines day, my birthday and my first wedding anniversary.

I promised that my next post would be part 2 of my Valentines day special. However, I lied. I did in fact bake a huge cake. Spent about three hours in the kitchen baking, icing and decorating it. It was about the height of my head and about as heavy. I had bought, especially for the occasion, these two cake tins that when put together the inside part creates a heart that you fill with whatever you fancy. I decided that I wanted to make a red velvet cake with raspberry buttercream. My red food colouring however was clearly not red enough as my cake came out brown. My raspberry buttercream for the middle went well, but when I came to the buttercream for the outside I got a bit too zealous with the raspberry puree and the buttercream separated. Instead of rectifying the situation and adding more icing sugar I stubbornly went ahead and iced the cake. I then went on to cut out hearts from royal icing and placing them all over the cake. Anyway, as I cut into the cake, firstly the so called heart in the middle looked more like a circle and secondly, the cake was dry. Really dry. It is the first cake I have ever made that was like that. I was gutted. My other half and I ate a piece each, but I then felt ill for the rest of the night. Wanting to make the most of it the hubbie said he would take it into work, but honestly, I was so mortified with it. To his dismay, I threw it in the bin. No one should have to eat dry cake!

ANYWAY. Moving on to better and more successful baking antics. Two days after Valentine’s came my birthday. I decided that I wanted to bake my own cake. Instead of making a cake, I decided to do a big cupcake and lots of small ones. I wanted to try something new, so decided on a Martha Stewart recipe for Coconut cupcakes. And boy am I glad I did!

Coconut cupcakes (makes approx 20)

1 3/4 cups for flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup shredded coconut and extra for decorating

3/4 cup unsalted butter

1 1/3 cups sugar

2 large whole eggs plus 2 egg whites

1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

3/4 cup unsweetened coconut milk

Method:

Preheat oven to 160 fan. Line your cupcake tray with paper cases and further buttered my big silicone cupcake case.

Whisk flour, baking powder and salt together. The recipe says to pulse the shredded coconut, but I just left it shredded. Whisk into mixture.

In a bowl and electric mixer, cream the butter and sugar till fluffy and all sugar is not visible. Beat the eggs into the mixture, making sure each is mixed in before putting the other in. Then put the whites and vanilla in and mix them in. Reduce speed to slow and slowly add the flour mixture in a bit at a time, alternating with two additions of coconut milk and beating until combined after each bit.

Divide the mixture up into the cupcakes – 3/4 full. Slide them into the oven for 20 mins and bake, rotating tins halfway through.

                                          photo-76photo-77

Seven-minute frosting

(makes about 8 cups – yup, it makes WAY too much for the amount of cupcakes)

1 1/2 cups plus 2 tablespoons sugar

2/3 cup water

2 tablespoons light corn syrup ( I just used golden syrup)

6 large egg whites

Food thermometer

So first up just a quick down low about the frosting. It is the same sort of  texture to meringue, only a bit more stable and better for piping. Like meringue it works well when being melted with a kitchen blow torch.

On to the deets (as the hubbie says. Military speak.)

Combine 1 1/2 cups of sugar with the water and corn syrup in a small saucepan. Make sure your sweet thermometer is clipped onto the pan. Bring to the boil on a medium heat and stir every now and again, until the sugar disappears. Now just leave it to boil, without stirring until it reaches 230F.

In the meantime grab your electric mixer fitted with whisk attachment and whisk the egg whites on medium speed until soft peaks form. Once the soft peaks form pour the syrup down the side of the bowl at a steady speed. Raising the speed whisk until mixture is completely cool. Should be about 7 minutes, you can tell by touching the bottom of the bowl – make sure it is cold. Use immediately.

The icing will harden slightly when you pour it on your cupcakes, then you can dip your cupcake in shredded coconut. And TA DA. You are done.

 photo-75

I am so glad I made these little puppies. I can now say that coconut cake is my all time favourite kind of cake yet. If I had a choice of cake I want to eat, it would have to be coconut cake. Yum. Don’t believe me? Give it a go.

 

Leave a Reply

