Blueberry and Almond cake

Photo 26-04-2013 14 26 52

So I have had almond powder in my cupboard for a while now and have been wanting to use it for a new recipe. I really wanted to do an old recipe I have for a cherry and almond cake, however unfortunately the supermarket I went to didn’t have cherries so I settled with blueberries.

I had a couple of friends coming to stay at the weekend, and as usual I went completely over the top with my baking. By the time they had arrived I had made, Apple and cinnamon flapjacks (unbelievably yummy), vanilla cupcakes with lemon butter cream and this Almond and blueberry cake. I was going to make a lemon buttercream for the side, but with all the other baked goods decided this might be a little too gluttonous! As I type this however I am wishing I grated some lemon peel and juice to add to the cake batter. Idea for next time!

So this is a recipe I actually pinched from Waitrose.

Ingredients:

150g blueberries

125g self-raising flour

200g unsalted butter

200g caster sugar

4 eggs separated

1tsp almond extract

125g ground almond

1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees. Line cake tin with baking paper or butter in a 18-19cm.

2. Rinse blueberries, pat dry and sprinkle a tsp of flour over them. This will stop them sinking.

3. In a bowl, cream the butter and 175g of sugar until fluffy. Beat in egg yolks and extract. Now sift in the flour and gently fold in.

4. Whisk egg whites in a very clean bowl ( this is important, if there is anything else in it it will not work). Slowly whisk in the sugar. Now pop the ground almonds in and using a large spoon, fold a quarter of the whisked mixture into the creamed mixture to lighter the cake . Now put in the rest. Spoon into the cake tin a scatter the blueberries on top.

5. Cook for an hour.

Photo 29-04-2013 16 44 50

Result.

A couple of things; the cake was deliciously smooth in texture due to the separation of the eggs. What I would say is that next time I would actually prefer the blueberries to the scattered within the cake instead of on top. This is how o do my cherry recipe and it adds pockets of excitement throughout the cake.

Photo 30-04-2013 12 20 32

Apart from that, it is a fabulous cake for the spring time as it is light and airy and deliciously smooth.

Yum!

Leave a Reply

